PMH in Newfoundland & Labrador

The PMH is becoming more known as a model for primary care in Newfoundland. There have been two symposia held specifically regarding the PMH including members of the College, the NLMA, the university and government.

Much of the work being done in the province is around primary health care – it is being seen as a priority by the medical association, nurses association, other allied health professionals as well as the provincial government. New interprofessional models of care are being explored through the health regions, mostly using nurse practitioners in collaborative practice.

Successful examples of practices operating as a PMH in the province

Memorial University – Family Medicine Clinic
The Health Sciences Centre
300 Prince Philip Drive, Room 2422
St. John’s NL  A1B 3V6
Phone: 709 777 7918
Fax: 709 777 7916
Memorial University – Shea Heights Community Health Centre
57B Linegar Avenue, P.O. Box 13122, Station A
St. John’s NL  A1B 4A4
Phone: 709 752 4300
Fax: 709 752 4302
Memorial University  – Ross Familly Medicine Centre
100 Forest Road, 6th Floor, Southcott Hall
St. John’s, NL  A1A 1E5
Phone: 709 777 6301
Fax: 709 777 8323

Tool Kit

Ready to get started? A tool kit for your province can be located here.

CFPC logo